

April 3, 2018

## For Immediate Release

From: Donna J. Fisher, District Manager, Blair County Conservation District

Subject: District Holds Groundbreaking Ceremony for NatureWorksPark

The Blair Conservation District held a groundbreaking ceremony on Thursday, March 29, 2018 for Blair County's first Environmental Specific Park. The park located at 10 Bedford Street in the Borough of Hollidaysburg has been named "NatureWorksPark".

Construction is slated to be completed by late summer 2018 and will include a walkway with instructional signage, a mitigated wetland and boardwalk, a pollinator garden, "soft access" to the Beaverdam Branch of the Juniata River, two pavilions, an amphitheatre and demonstration areas for plants/crops, stormwater alternatives, riparian buffer establishment and wetlands. A State Grant from PA, DCNR was received totaling \$250,000; the Altoona Sunrise Rotary provided \$4,000 and the remainder of funds will be from the Conservation District Account funded through the Public Utility Commission from the Marcellus Shale program.

The wetland mitigation and boardwalk has already been completed and can be seen from RT 36 just south of Hollidaysburg. Visitors to the park will have access off Bedford Street.

Local and State Officials participated in the groundbreaking ceremony as well as members of the Conservation District Board and Staff.

Updates to the park will be posted on the district website at <u>www.blairconservationdistrict.org</u> and a Facebook page has been created for NatureWorksPark. Stay tuned for more information as construction is completed.

Photo caption (L to R) Jay Schriebman, Regional and Conservation Advisor, PA DCNR; Blair County Commissioner Bruce Erb; Harold Bailey, District Chairman; Blaine Smith, District Vice-Chairman; Senator John Eichelberger, Jr.; Patrick Plummer, Hollidaysburg Borough; Luke Bowser for Representative John McGinnis; Representative Judy Ward; Blair County Commissioner Terry Tomassetti; Teddie Kreitz, Altoona Sunrise Rotary Photo caption for staff photo (L to R) Bonnie Young, Administrative Assistant; Chelsey Ergler, Stormwater Coordinator; Beth Futrick, Ombudsman; Donna Fisher, District Manager; Diane Thomas, Resource Conservation Technician; Suzanne Black, Conservation Education Specialist; Margaret Angle, retired District Clerk; Rich Huether, Ag Conservation Specialist; Stephen Dumm, Resource Conservation Technician and Joshua Stoehr, Resource Conservation Technician