Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts

We support Pennsylvania’s Conservation Districts who work for clean water and healthy soil every day.

Conservationists Recognized in Harrisburg

(Left to right): PACD President Kelly Stagen, Representative James B. Struzzi II, and PACD North Central Region Director Dr. Robert Shannon.

PACD’s annual conference was held in Harrisburg, PA. Several conservationists were recognized during the awards luncheon on July 20, 2022.

The 2022 PACD honorees are as follows: 

Legislator Leadership Award

Representative James B. Struzzi II

The Indiana County Conservation District nominated representative Struzzi.

President’s Award

PACD Ad Hoc Budget Committee

Members of the committee include:

  • Christopher Thompson (Lancaster County)
  • John Dryzal (Cambria County)
  • Josh Longmore (Luzerne County)
  • Mark Hamilton (Tioga County)
  • Emil Bove (Westmoreland County)
  • Douglas Beri Jr. (Indiana County)
  • Christopher B. Snyder (Juniata County)

Ann Rudd Saxman Conservation District Director Excellence Award

Ted Veresink, Northampton County Conservation District

Conservation District Employee Excellence Award

Scott Metzger, Franklin County Conservation District

Conservation District Trash Champion

The Washington County Conservation District collected 46 bags and 10 tons of trash and tires! As a result, the district won the Trash Champion Award for the second year.

Conservation District Employee Service Recognition Awards

With 35 Years of Service:

  • Sandy Thompson, McKean County
  • Susan Moon, Somerset County

With 40 Years of Service:

  • Ed Magargee, Delaware County
  • Gerald Heistand, Lancaster County

Click here to read the entire press release and here to view more photos.