Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts

We support Pennsylvania’s Conservation Districts who work for clean water and healthy soil every day.

Conservationists Recognized in Harrisburg

(Left to right): PACD President Kelly Stagen, Representative James B. Struzzi II, and PACD North Central Region Director Dr. Robert Shannon.

PACD’s annual conference was held in Harrisburg, PA. Several conservationists were recognized during the awards luncheon on July 20, 2022.

The 2022 PACD honorees are as follows: 

Legislator Leadership Award

Representative James B. Struzzi II

The Indiana County Conservation District nominated representative Struzzi.

President’s Award

PACD Ad Hoc Budget Committee

Members of the committee include:

  • Christopher Thompson (Lancaster County)
  • John Dryzal (Cambria County)
  • Josh Longmore (Luzerne County)
  • Mark Hamilton (Tioga County)
  • Emil Bove (Westmoreland County)
  • Douglas Beri Jr. (Indiana County)
  • Christopher B. Snyder (Juniata County)

Ann Rudd Saxman Conservation District Director Excellence Award

Ted Veresink, Northampton County Conservation District

Conservation District Employee Excellence Award

Scott Metzger, Franklin County Conservation District

Conservation District Trash Champion

The Washington County Conservation District collected 46 bags and 10 tons of trash and tires! As a result, the district won the Trash Champion Award for the second year.

Conservation District Employee Service Recognition Awards

With 35 Years of Service:

  • Sandy Thompson, McKean County
  • Susan Moon, Somerset County

With 40 Years of Service:

  • Ed Magargee, Delaware County
  • Gerald Heistand, Lancaster County

Click here to read the entire press release and here to view more photos. 

Continue Reading

Luzerne Conservation District Director Emeritus Wins Mayfly Award

(Left to right): Tim Ference receives the Mayfly Award from Robert E. Hughes, Executive Director for the Eastern Pennsylvania Coalition for Abandoned Mine Reclamation (EPCAMR).

On June 22, 2022, Timothy Ference, Director Emeritus at Luzerne Conservation District, received the Mayfly Award. The award was presented during the PA Abandoned Mine Reclamation Conference in State College.

The Pennsylvania Abandoned Mine Reclamation Conference’s coveted “Mayfly Award” recognizes individuals who have dedicated a lifetime of knowledge and expertise to the reclamation of abandoned mines in Pennsylvania. The mayfly was selected as the symbol for this award because its presence in a stream signifies clean water.

Congratulations Tim!

Continue Reading

Lancaster County Conservation District Holds Annual Banquet

Lancaster County Conservation District Manager Chris Thompson speaks during the banquet.

On June 9, 2022, the Lancaster County Conservation District held its 69th annual banquet. The event was held at the Landis Valley Village and Farm Museum, Lancaster, PA. PACD Executive Director Brenda Shambaugh attended the event.

Several individuals were recognized during the event, including recipients of the Youth Conservation School Service Award, Educator Award, Outstanding Cooperator Award, scholarship recipients, and more.

Continue Reading

April 30 Deadline for PACD Conservation Award Nominations

April 30 is the last day to submit a nomination for a PACD Award. Don’t miss this opportunity to recognize a deserving district director, associate director, or employee, or to honor administrative excellence in environmental recreation!

  • Ann Rudd Saxman Conservation District Director or Associate Director Excellence Award
  • Conservation District Employee Excellence Award
  • Legislator Recognition Award
  • Maurice K. Goddard Award for Excellence in Environmental Recreation

Click here for more information and a nomination form. Contact Diane Young at with any questions.

Continue Reading

Elk County Conservation District Issues Trash Challenge

For the second year, the Elk County Conservation District is issuing a challenge to other conservation districts to pick up trash during the month of April.

The district that picks up the most trash in their county is the winner. First, track the number of bags and weight of trash (if possible). Then, share your district’s photos and results on Facebook using the hashtags #ConservationCallout #DistrictTrashTalking.

The winning district will be recognized during the PACD/SCC Joint Annual Conference in July and receive the trash talker award (pictured) for the year. The trophy is currently held by the 2021 winning district in Washington County and will be passed on to the 2022 winner.

Continue Reading

Deadline for Nominations for PACD Conservation Awards is April 30

Do you know a staff person or director who has gone above and beyond the call of duty?

A legislator who champions conservation legislation? A Pennsylvania resident or Pennsylvania-based organization you would like to recognize for their contributions in support of environmental recreation? Consider nominating them for a PACD award!

The categories are:

•      Ann Rudd Saxman Conservation District Director or Associate Director Excellence Award

•      Conservation District Employee Excellence Award

•      Legislator Leadership Award

•      Maurice K. Goddard Award for Excellence in Environmental Recreation

Click here for more information. Contact Diane Young at or 717-794-6109 with any questions.

Continue Reading

Secretary McDonnell Recognizes Conservation District Staff with High Achievement in Clean Water Academy

PA Department of Environmental Protection Secretary Patrick McDonnell speaks during the Clean Water Academy recognitions on February 16, 2022.

During the 2022 Building for Tomorrow Staff Conference, PA Department of Environmental Protection Secretary Patrick McDonnell recognized conservation district staff with exceptionally high achievement in the Clean Water Academy

The following individuals were recognized for the most courses completed:

  1. Jake Kennedy – PACD (previously interned at Armstrong Conservation District)
  2. Brianna Osborne – Warren
  3. Taylor Lawrence – Berks
  4. Brady Byers – Franklin
  5. Adam Seitz – Lancaster
  6. Steve Beach – Blair
  7. Hank Bradish – Westmoreland
  8. Christina Anders – Adams
  9. Keith Stetsko – Allegheny
  10. Dave Taylor – Wyoming

The Secretary also recognized the following districts for having the highest number of completed courses:

  1. Lancaster
  2. Washington
  3. Wyoming
  4. Allegheny
  5. Berks
  6. Beaver
  7. Armstrong
  8. Blair
  9. York
  10. Chester

Conservation district staff with the most courses completed will receive a signed certificate from Secretary McDonnell.

Continue Reading

Submit Your Entries for the 2021 Conservation District Video Awards

Building for Tomorrow is now accepting submissions for the 2nd Annual Conservation District Video Awards, to be presented on Wednesday, February 16, at the 2022 Hybrid Staff Conference. Districts can submit videos produced this year to compete for the coveted CONDIVA trophy, which will be awarded to winners in three categories.

Click here for contest rules and the submission form. 

The deadline for entries is December 31, 2021.

Financial and other support for the Building for Tomorrow Leadership Development Program is provided through a grant from the Pennsylvania State Conservation Commission. Guidance for the Program is provided through the Pennsylvania Conservation Partnership’s Leadership Development Committee.

Continue Reading